AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

Choosing among the best store-bought apple pies comes down to how you plan to serve them: a full-size dessert for a group, an individual pie with broader dietary accommodations, or a small ready-to-eat-style portion for several people. I rank David’s Cookies Ready-to-Bake Grandé Apple Pies first for gatherings, since the two 10-inch pies offer the clearest fit for sharing. Katz Gluten-Free Personal-Size Apple Pie is my pick for a single diner avoiding several common allergens, while Mr Kipling Bramley Apple Pies suit shoppers who want six small pies rather than one large centerpiece.

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get kitchen staples and gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

The tradeoff is convenience versus control. David’s and Katz need baking, so they ask for more time and kitchen access; Mr Kipling’s listing gives a six-pie format but little detail about preparation or dietary attributes. I’ve ranked these pies by how clearly each one serves a distinct buyer, how useful its stated format is, and how much a shopper can confidently learn from the available product details—not by making unsupported claims about taste.

3
compared
3
brands
2
flavors
6 pies
max pack quantity
Which store-bought apple pie should you buy?
★ Top Pick
David’s Cookies Ready-to-Bake
Best Overall for Sharing
Includes two 10-inch pies, a practical format for sharing or serving on separate occasions.
See on Amazon →
A gluten-free diner or household seeking a personal-size apple pie that is also listed as free from dairy, soy, tree nuts, and shellfish.
Katz Gluten-Free Personal-Size
Personal-size format provides an individually portioned dessert.
View on Amazon →
Shoppers looking for six smaller Bramley apple pies to portion individually or serve on separate occasions.
Mr Kipling Bramley Apple Pies
Six pies offer more individually portioned pieces than the one-pie Katz pack.
View on Amazon →
Pack quantity — compared
David’s Cookies Ready-to-Bake 2 pies
Mr Kipling Bramley Apple Pies6 pies
Pros & cons at a glance
David’s Cookies Ready-to-Bake
✓ Includes two 10-inch pies, a practical format for sharing or serving on separate occasions.
✗ Requires baking, so it is not an immediate dessert straight from the package.
Katz Gluten-Free Personal-Size
✓ Personal-size format provides an individually portioned dessert.
✗ Requires baking for the recommended warm serving.
Mr Kipling Bramley Apple Pies
✓ Six pies offer more individually portioned pieces than the one-pie Katz pack.
✗ The supplied details do not state storage requirements or preparation instructions.

Key Takeaways

  • For a shared dessert: David’s Cookies includes two 10-inch pies, but both require baking and contain dairy.
  • For an individual with multiple dietary restrictions: Katz is explicitly gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, tree nut-free, and shellfish-free; it arrives frozen.
  • For six smaller portions: Mr Kipling provides six 59 g Bramley apple pies, though its listing gives fewer storage and preparation details.
  • Preparation differs: Katz lists oven instructions for frozen and thawed pies; David’s is ready to bake, while Mr Kipling’s instructions are unspecified here.
  • The ranking reflects buyer fit: David’s leads for group serving, Katz for dietary specificity, and Mr Kipling for portion count.
2
Katz Gluten-Free Personal-Size
Best for Gluten-Free and Allergen-Aware Shoppers
1
David’s Cookies Ready-to-Bake
Best Overall for Sharing
3
Mr Kipling Bramley Apple Pies
Best for Small Portions and a Multi-Pie Pack

Our Top Best Store-bought Apple Pies Picks

David’s Cookies Ready-to-Bake Grandé Apple Pies, 10-Inch, 2-PackDavid’s Cookies Ready-to-Bake Grandé Apple Pies, 10-Inch, 2-PackBest Overall for SharingPack quantity: 2 piesPie diameter: 10 inchesFlavor: Apple with cinnamonVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Katz Gluten-Free Personal-Size Apple Pie, 11.5 ozKatz Gluten-Free Personal-Size Apple Pie, 11.5 ozBest for Gluten-Free and Allergen-Aware ShoppersWeight: 11.5 ozServing format: Personal-size pieDietary attributes: Gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, tree nut-free, shellfish-freeVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Mr Kipling Bramley Apple Pies, 6 x 59 gMr Kipling Bramley Apple Pies, 6 x 59 gBest for Small Portions and a Multi-Pie PackBrand: Mr KiplingFlavor: Bramley applePack quantity: 6 piesVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Specs at a glance
store-bought apple piePack quantityFlavor
David’s Cookies Ready-to-Bake 2 piesApple with cinnamon
Katz Gluten-Free Personal-Size——
Mr Kipling Bramley Apple Pies6 piesBramley apple

More Details on Our Top Picks

  1. David’s Cookies Ready-to-Bake Grandé Apple Pies, 10-Inch, 2-Pack

    David’s Cookies Ready-to-Bake Grandé Apple Pies, 10-Inch, 2-Pack

    Best Overall for Sharing

    View Latest Price

    David’s Cookies is my strongest all-around pick for a shared dessert because the package contains two full-size, 10-inch apple pies rather than a single individual pastry or a set of miniature portions. That format gives hosts room to serve a group, put one pie out at a time, or keep the second for another occasion. The stated apple-and-cinnamon filling also keeps the product squarely in familiar apple-pie territory, rather than presenting a specialty flavor as the main reason to buy.

    The important tradeoff is preparation: these are ready to bake, not ready to serve. A shopper needs time and access to an oven before dessert, whereas Mr Kipling’s six small pies may appeal to someone who wants portions without committing to a large pie format. Katz also needs baking, but offers a personal-size pie and specific heating instructions for frozen or thawed storage; David’s supplied details do not give an oven temperature or bake time. I would check the packaging for those directions rather than guess.

    David’s also contains dairy and carries an OU Kosher Dairy certification. That makes the dietary information more specific than the Mr Kipling listing, but it rules this pie out for dairy-free guests. Compared with Katz, which explicitly avoids several common allergens, David’s is the less flexible option for an allergy-sensitive table. Its advantage is scale: two large pies make more sense for a host than Katz’s single serving. I rank it first because its occasion fit is clear and versatile, while keeping the baking requirement and dairy content front and center.

    Pros:
    • Includes two 10-inch pies, a practical format for sharing or serving on separate occasions.
    • Ready-to-bake preparation lets the buyer serve the pies warm after baking.
    • Apple and cinnamon make the stated flavor straightforward and familiar.
    • OU Kosher Dairy certification is listed for shoppers seeking that certification.
    Cons:
    • Requires baking, so it is not an immediate dessert straight from the package.
    • Contains dairy and is not suitable for dairy-free diners.
    • The supplied product details do not state baking temperature or time.

    Best for: Hosts, families, and gift-givers who want two full-size apple pies and can bake them before serving.

    Not ideal for: Dairy-free diners, anyone needing a ready-to-eat pie, or shoppers who require specific bake-time instructions before purchase.

    • Pack quantity:2 pies
    • Pie diameter:10 inches
    • Flavor:Apple with cinnamon
    • Preparation:Ready to bake
    • Dietary note:Contains dairy
    • Certification:OU Kosher Dairy
    Our verdict
    “I’d choose David’s for a gathering when two large pies matter more than instant serving or dairy-free flexibility.”
  2. Katz Gluten-Free Personal-Size Apple Pie, 11.5 oz

    Katz Gluten-Free Personal-Size Apple Pie, 11.5 oz

    Best for Gluten-Free and Allergen-Aware Shoppers

    View Latest Price

    Katz is the clearest choice for one person with several stated dietary restrictions. It is a personal-size apple pie, and the product details identify it as gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, tree nut-free, and shellfish-free. That breadth of declared exclusions gives it a practical role that neither David’s large dairy-containing pies nor Mr Kipling’s less-detailed listing can match. For a household that needs a separately portioned dessert, the single-pie format also avoids opening a larger pie and deciding how to divide or store the remainder.

    The tradeoff is that the convenience is about portioning, not immediate serving. Katz ships frozen and lists oven directions: bake at 300°F for 35 minutes from frozen or 20 minutes when thawed. It still takes planning and oven time, so it is not the easiest pick when guests are already waiting for dessert. David’s also needs baking, but its two 10-inch pies are more suitable for a group; Katz makes more sense when the intended diner is one person or when an individual pie helps manage separate dietary needs.

    The supplied description calls the crust flaky and the apple filling sweet, but I would not treat those descriptors as a substitute for checking the current ingredient label. Dietary statements are especially important for allergy-sensitive buyers, and manufacturing practices or packaging details can change. Compared with Mr Kipling, Katz offers far more explicit dietary and heating information. Compared with David’s, it gives up shared scale for stronger stated dietary flexibility. I rank it second because that specialization is valuable, though its single-serving scope is narrower than the two-pie option.

    Pros:
    • Personal-size format provides an individually portioned dessert.
    • Listed as gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, tree nut-free, and shellfish-free.
    • Includes separate baking directions for frozen and thawed preparation.
    • The stated sweet apple filling and flaky gluten-free crust clarify the product’s style.
    Cons:
    • Requires baking for the recommended warm serving.
    • Ships frozen and needs freezer storage if it will not be eaten soon after arrival.
    • One personal-size pie is less suited to serving a group than David’s two 10-inch pies.

    Best for: A gluten-free diner or household seeking a personal-size apple pie that is also listed as free from dairy, soy, tree nuts, and shellfish.

    Not ideal for: Anyone buying dessert for a group, needing an instant ready-to-serve pie, or unable to store frozen food and allow time for baking.

    • Weight:11.5 oz
    • Serving format:Personal-size pie
    • Dietary attributes:Gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, tree nut-free, shellfish-free
    • Storage:Ships frozen
    • Bake from frozen:300°F for 35 minutes
    • Bake when thawed:300°F for 20 minutes
    • Crust and filling description:Flaky gluten-free crust with sweet apple filling
    Our verdict
    “I’d pick Katz when a personal portion and clearly stated dietary exclusions matter more than group size or quick serving.”
  3. Mr Kipling Bramley Apple Pies, 6 x 59 g

    Mr Kipling Bramley Apple Pies, 6 x 59 g

    Best for Small Portions and a Multi-Pie Pack

    View Latest Price

    Mr Kipling stands out for quantity of individual pies rather than overall pie size: the pack contains six Bramley apple pies at 59 g each, for 354 g total. That makes it the most naturally divided option in this lineup. Someone who wants several modest portions may find this format more convenient than cutting one of David’s 10-inch pies, while households with different dessert schedules can serve a pie at a time rather than baking both large pies together.

    That format does not automatically make Mr Kipling the most convenient choice. The supplied details do not say whether these pies are ready to eat, whether they should be heated, how they should be stored, or what dietary exclusions apply. Those gaps matter more here than the pack count: Katz lists exact heating directions and several dietary attributes, and David’s clearly says the pies are ready to bake and contain dairy. I would check the package for handling instructions and ingredients before deciding that Mr Kipling suits a particular meal or guest.

    The Bramley apple description gives this option a named apple style, but the listing does not provide further information about the filling or crust. I would not infer a particular sweetness, texture, or baking method from the name alone. Compared with Katz, Mr Kipling offers more portions but less dietary and preparation detail; compared with David’s, it is easier to divide into small servings but does not provide the same large centerpiece format. It ranks third because its six-pie format is useful, yet the available information leaves more unanswered questions for buyers who need a clear preparation plan.

    Pros:
    • Six pies offer more individually portioned pieces than the one-pie Katz pack.
    • Each pie is listed at 59 g, making the portion size clear.
    • Bramley apple identifies the stated apple variety or style.
    • The 354 g total weight clarifies the overall pack quantity.
    Cons:
    • The supplied details do not state storage requirements or preparation instructions.
    • The listing provided here does not specify allergen or dietary attributes.
    • Small individual pies do not replace a large centerpiece as readily as David’s 10-inch pies.

    Best for: Shoppers looking for six smaller Bramley apple pies to portion individually or serve on separate occasions.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need listed allergen information, precise heating directions, or a full-size pie for a group centerpiece.

    • Brand:Mr Kipling
    • Flavor:Bramley apple
    • Pack quantity:6 pies
    • Total weight:354 g
    • Weight per pie:59 g
    • Preparation details:Not specified in the supplied product information
    Our verdict
    “I’d choose Mr Kipling for six clearly sized small pies, but I’d verify preparation, storage, and ingredients on the package first.”
best store-bought apple pies
What makes a great store-bought apple pie
1
Choose the portion format before the flavor
David’s is the group-serving choice : two pies, each 10 inches across, are the clearest fit when dessert needs to serve several pe
2
Account for baking time and freezer space
None of these listings supports assuming a hot pie is instantly ready .
3
Match the pie to dietary needs
Katz has the most extensive stated dietary profile : gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, tree nut-free, and shellfish-free.
4
Weigh detail against flexibility
More product information helps buyers plan , especially when baking or dietary limits are involved.
How to choose your store-bought apple pie
1
How we picked
I compared these three products as store-bought apple pie choices , focusing on the decisions a shopper can make from th
2
Choose the portion format before the flavor
David’s is the group-serving choice : two pies, each 10 inches across, are the clearest fit when dessert needs to serve
3
Account for baking time and freezer space
None of these listings supports assuming a hot pie is instantly ready .
4
Match the pie to dietary needs
Katz has the most extensive stated dietary profile : gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, tree nut-free, and shellfish-fre
5
Weigh detail against flexibility
More product information helps buyers plan , especially when baking or dietary limits are involved.
Vetted store-bought apple pies ·
The best store-bought apple pies, compared
★ Winner David’s Cookies Ready-to-Bake
Best Overall for Sharing
3compared
6 piestop pack quantity
2flavors

How We Picked

I compared these three products as store-bought apple pie choices, focusing on the decisions a shopper can make from the supplied product information: how many pies come in a pack, how they are portioned, what preparation they need, and whether dietary attributes are clearly stated. Since these options serve markedly different situations, I did not treat a family-size pie and a personal pie as interchangeable.

David’s Cookies ranks first because its two 10-inch pies give it the strongest stated fit for a gathering or dessert gift. That advantage comes with a real condition: the pies need baking, and they contain dairy. Katz ranks second, not because its single pie is less thoughtfully specified, but because one personal-size pie is a narrower format for most shared occasions. Its detailed allergen information makes it the clearest choice for some dietary needs. Mr Kipling ranks third because the six-piece, 59 g format is useful for individual portions, but the supplied listing does not state heating directions, storage needs, or dietary certifications. That missing information limits how confidently I can recommend it to shoppers with specific requirements.

I use the listed details rather than assuming ingredients, texture, serving counts beyond the stated size, or how a pie tastes. “Ready to bake” means baking is still required, and Katz’s listed heating directions are not a promise about the cooking needs of the other pies. Product packaging and availability can vary, so I’d check the current label for ingredients, handling, and preparation before serving—especially when allergies or dietary restrictions are involved.

Feature comparison
store-bought apple pieFlavor
David’s Cookies Ready-to-Bake Apple with cinnamon
Katz Gluten-Free Personal-Size—
Mr Kipling Bramley Apple PiesBramley apple
Everyday → specialist
Everyday & valuePremium & specialist
Which store-bought apple pie fits you?
The everyday user
All-round, reliable
The enthusiast
Premium & high-performance
The gift-giver
Looks & craftsmanship

Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Store-bought Apple Pies

I’d start with the serving situation, then check preparation and dietary details. These three pies are not direct substitutes: one pack is built around two large desserts, one is a frozen personal pie with extensive stated dietary exclusions, and one provides six small pies. The best match depends on which of those differences matters at your table.

Choose the portion format before the flavor

David’s is the group-serving choice: two pies, each 10 inches across, are the clearest fit when dessert needs to serve several people. The listing does not state an exact serving count, so I would not promise a particular number of portions. Katz takes the opposite approach with one 11.5 oz personal-size pie. That is better suited to an individual than a shared table. Mr Kipling splits the difference in quantity but not size, supplying six pies at 59 g apiece. This makes it the most divisible pack, though the listed weight points to small portions rather than a full-size pie. If you expect a centerpiece, choose David’s; if each person should have an individual item, compare Katz and Mr Kipling by how many diners you need to serve.

Account for baking time and freezer space

None of these listings supports assuming a hot pie is instantly ready. David’s is explicitly ready to bake, which means baking is part of the plan. Katz comes frozen and lists directions of 300°F for 35 minutes from frozen or 20 minutes when thawed; it needs freezer space if you are not eating it soon after arrival. That makes Katz the easiest to plan around when exact directions are useful, but it still calls for advance preparation. The supplied Mr Kipling details do not say whether heating is needed or how to store the pies. I would check its package rather than extrapolate from the other products. If you need a last-minute dessert, confirm the handling and heating instructions before ordering any of them.

Match the pie to dietary needs

Katz has the most extensive stated dietary profile: gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, tree nut-free, and shellfish-free. David’s is identified as OU Kosher Dairy and contains dairy, so it is not the fit for a dairy-free diner. The provided Mr Kipling information names Bramley apple but gives no allergen or dietary claims. That absence does not establish that it contains or avoids any particular ingredient. For allergies or strict dietary needs, read the current packaging and contact the manufacturer if label wording leaves questions. Product descriptions are a starting point, not a substitute for checking the ingredients and relevant allergen information on the item you receive.

Weigh detail against flexibility

More product information helps buyers plan, especially when baking or dietary limits are involved. Katz lists weight, storage, dietary exclusions, and two heating schedules. David’s gives pack count, diameter, flavor, baking status, and a dairy certification, though its supplied details omit bake time and temperature. Mr Kipling makes its quantity and per-pie weight clear but leaves preparation, storage, and dietary questions open. This does not prove that one pie is better made than another; it shows how much can be confirmed before purchase. I’d give the available details extra weight if a specific oven schedule, allergy profile, or storage plan will decide whether the pie works for you.

Buy for the occasion, not a generic ranking

My ranking changes with the job at hand. For a group, David’s earns the lead because its two large pies are the strongest stated match. For a single gluten-free diner or someone avoiding several listed ingredients, Katz becomes the more sensible first choice. For six smaller portions, Mr Kipling answers a need neither larger pies handle as neatly. A rank is only useful when its logic is visible: David’s takes the overall spot for shared occasions, Katz follows for a more specialized personal serving, and Mr Kipling is third because its portion count is clear while other practical details are not. Use the role that matches your situation, and confirm current packaging information before serving.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which of these store-bought apple pies is best for serving a group?

David’s Cookies is the clearest group option because its pack contains two 10-inch pies. The product information does not give a serving count, so the number of portions depends on how you cut each pie. Katz is described as personal-size, while Mr Kipling’s six pies weigh 59 g each and are better understood as small individual portions than as one shared centerpiece.

Which pie has the clearest gluten-free and allergen information?

Katz is the most specifically described for dietary exclusions in the supplied details: it is listed as gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, tree nut-free, and shellfish-free. David’s contains dairy, and the provided Mr Kipling information does not list dietary attributes. Anyone with an allergy should still check the current package label and contact the manufacturer if they need clarification about ingredients or possible cross-contact.

Which apple pie can I serve without baking?

The information provided does not confirm that any of the three is ready to eat without preparation. David’s is ready to bake, and Katz includes baking directions for frozen and thawed pies. The Mr Kipling listing does not state heating instructions or serving preparation. Check the package before serving, especially if you need a dessert that can go straight from storage to the table.

How many pies come in each package?

David’s includes two 10-inch pies, Katz includes one 11.5 oz personal-size pie, and Mr Kipling includes six 59 g pies. These are different portion formats, not equivalent serving quantities: David’s is geared toward larger shared desserts, Katz toward an individual portion, and Mr Kipling toward several smaller servings.

What should I check before ordering a frozen or ready-to-bake apple pie?

Check storage needs, preparation directions, and the ingredient label before deciding. Katz is listed as shipping frozen and gives separate bake times for frozen and thawed preparation. David’s is ready to bake, but the supplied information does not give an oven temperature or bake time. Mr Kipling’s provided details do not specify storage or heating. Confirm the current package instructions and dietary information, since those details can affect whether the pie fits your schedule and guests.

Conclusion

My best overall recommendation for a shared dessert is David’s Cookies: the two 10-inch pies make the pack the strongest match for hosts who can bake ahead and are serving people who eat dairy. For one diner who needs a gluten-free option with several other listed dietary exclusions, I’d choose Katz, accepting its frozen storage and required oven time. For shoppers who want several smaller portions instead of a large pie, Mr Kipling’s six-piece pack is the format to investigate, with the caveat that the supplied details leave preparation, storage, and allergen information unanswered.

There is no single winner for every occasion. Choose by serving size first, then verify cooking and ingredient details against the current package. That approach makes the ranking useful: David’s for group scale, Katz for a clearly specified personal pie, and Mr Kipling for six modest portions.

You May Also Like

7 Best Hailey Bieber Gap Clothing in 2026

Discover the best Hailey Bieber Gap clothing for style, comfort, and value in 2026. Find top picks suited for every wardrobe need in this curated roundup.

3 Best Luxury Dumb Phones in 2026

Explore the top luxury dumb phones of 2026, including the Mudita Kompakt, Nokia 110 4G, and Palm Phone. Find the perfect distraction-free device for your needs.

6 Best Room Fresheners in 2026

Discover the best room fresheners of 2026, from odor eliminators to subtle sprays. Find your perfect scent with our expert picks and buying tips.

12 Best Dining Nook Furniture in 2026

Discover the best dining nook furniture of 2026. Find top picks for style, space-saving, and durability to create your perfect cozy dining spot.